Degree Show Build, So Far…

On Monday, it was the beginning of building the degree show. This means the whole studio spaces on the third floor had to be cleared and cleaned ready for the big exhibition so that I can begin the build of my final piece. I have waited a long time for this day, and am very ready to get started! The clear and the rebuild of the partitioning walls have taken the most time; they are heavy and take a large team to build. I had around 2o people to help move the walls and rebuild my structure. It is now taking shape, and Im feeling relieved that my image in my mind is now becoming a physical object. I have to admit that it has been very difficult waiting for the time to come to start building; I feel like I have prepared as much as I can and I have only been able to wait for the go ahead as the dead line creeps closer.

One week in and I am very excited for the week ahead, despite my rising stress levels. I can’t wait to see the final finished installation. So far, the build, the painting, the roof support has been sorted. This means that it is do-able to finish in the week approaching.  I am also incredibly thankful for all the help and the support that I have had from my course mates and from my tutors. I understand that this is a big project, far far bigger than what I have ever done before; almost bigger than what I could have dreamed of and I wouldn’t be able to do it without the help that I have had. I hope that it is paying off to be ambitious.

Leave a Reply

